top of page

Miracle gf- banana bread

Updated: Jul 12, 2019

Easiest and quickest way to utilise overripe bananas and/ or to make a

Gluten free banana bread

I started experimenting with gluten free cooking/ baking around and about 3 years ago- with very little success. Literally the only person that enjoyed my works of art was my loving husband. (Jip, he loves me that much!)


I have literally no background of cooking, and almost everything that I know about cooking and baking today I learned through trial and error. (and in times I couldn't figure out what I was doing wrong, Tannie Nadia was always there to first laugh and then help me out.)

Needless to say- more than 90% of my baking efforts were a complete disaster.


"...Tannie Nadia was always there to first laugh and then help me out..."

I could never understand why my baking failed most of the times, and in the times where it was actually successful- it was pretty much completely unedible. In the last year or two, the gluten free craze grew bigger, and everyone seemed to be testing and experimenting with it.


One day during a casual discussion with a friend (Thanx Claudia), she mentioned that depending on the type of flour you use- you need to adapt the rest of your ingredients as well. (For example with coconut flour...)... Duhhhhh...

So it all started to make more sense, until the one day my husband took two bags of Schär cook flour. The whole gluten free baking game changed- and everything seemed to be perfect. Thats when I realised that, the most important aspect of gluten free baking is literally the brand/ type of flour you use.

"The most important aspect of gluten free baking is literally the brand/ type of flour you use."

Ingredients:

* 1 cup schär mix c flour

* 1/2 cup coconut (desiccated/ flaked)

* 2 eggs (divided)

* 1 egg white

* 2 or 3 overripe bananas

* 1 tbs baking powder

* pinch of salt


Preheat oven 180degrees and prepare a bread pan.

1. Mix the bananas and two egg yolks together. Add the flour and coconut. (add cinnamon/ sugar/ honey/ almonds as per taste/ optional)

2. In another bowel- mix 3 egg whites and pinch of salt- until the egg white are stiff and making little iceberg-tips.

3. Add the baking powder to the banana mixture, and afterwards carefully mix in the egg whites.

4. Pour mixture in bread pan (for decorative purposes you can add banana or flaked almond on top)/ Bake for 30minutes.


Enjoy!

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page